As listed on 31 Oct 2026

Free billing software in India compared (2026)

Last updated · by Ashok Sachdev

Quick answer: Several Indian billing apps list a free plan (as listed on 31 Oct 2026): Swipe (unlimited invoices, 1 user, watermark), Zoho Books (up to 1,000 invoices a year, 1 user + 1 accountant), Zoho Invoice (500 invoices a year), Vyapar and myBillBook (free mobile plans with limits not stated), BUSY Express (free desktop accounting). RichPOS Free gives 50 bills a month, 1 store and 1 user, free forever.

Disclosure: RichPOS is our product. Competitor facts are from their own pages, linked below.

At a glance

Free plans side by side

Free plans of billing software in India, as listed on 31 Oct 2026
SoftwareFree plan as listedBill brandingRuns onSource
RichPOSFree plan: ₹0 forever, 50 bills a month, 1 store, 1 user, up to 200 items; small “Made with RichPOS” footer on bills, no data export; web app, needs internet. Paid plans also start with a 30-day free trial, no cardSmall “Made with RichPOS · richdaddy.in” footerWeb app, Windows, Mac, Linux and Android apps; needs internetrichdaddy.in/free-billing-software
SwipeFree Forever: unlimited invoices, 1 business, 1 user, unlimited items and customers, on web, Android and iOS. Free bills carry a watermark (removing it is a PRO feature); GST reports and GSTR-1 start at PROYes (“Remove Watermark from Bills” is a PRO feature)Web, Android, iOSgetswipe.in/pricing
Zoho BooksFree plan for micro businesses: 1 user + 1 accountant, up to 1,000 invoices a year; lists inventory tracking, GST reports and filing, 50+ reportsNot statedWeb (apps not stated on the page)zoho.com/in/books/pricing
Zoho InvoiceForever-free: up to 500 invoices per year, 2 users, 3 projects; “Powered by Zoho Invoice” branding; GST-compliant invoicesYes (“Powered by Zoho Invoice”)Android, iOS, Windows, Maczoho.com/in/invoice/pricing
VyaparLifetime free plan on mobile with basic features; invoice count, users and devices on it not stated. Desktop has a free trial versionNot stated for the free plan (paid plans list “remove advertisement on invoices”)Android, iOS, Windows, Mac; works offline and onlinevyaparapp.in
myBillBookFree mobile plan (Android, iOS): “free for life as long as you limit your invoice usage”; numeric limit not stated. GST invoices with HSN/SAC included; inventory listed as an upgrade reasonNot statedMobile app only (Android, iOS) for Freemybillbook.in/free
BUSYBUSY Express is listed as “100% Free Billing & Accounting” (no mobile app); user limits not stated; the page does not say whether Express handles GST. Separate 15-day free trial, no cardNot statedDesktop; “No Mobile App” for Expressbusy.in/pricing
KhatabookHome page says “5 Cr+ businesses using our free apps” for a digital khata (ledger), reminders and reports; paid tiers, invoice limits and GST billing not statedNot statedDesktop and mobilekhatabook.com
GimBooksPricing page offers a 7-day free trial; no permanent free plan listed thereNot statedMobile app, desktop web appgimbooks.com/pricing
Refrens“15 documents … absolutely free”, worded as a total rather than per month; users not stated. Web-basedNot statedWeb (its FAQ and footer disagree about apps)refrens.com/pricing
TallyPrimeNo free plan on the buy page; Silver single user from ₹750/month + 18% GST. The page links a 7-day free trial; educational mode not statedn/aWindows PCtallysolutions.com/buy-tally
Marg ERPNo permanent free plan stated on the price list; one-time prices from ₹5,550 (Nano) + 18% GST. A trial or demo is mentioned on other Marg pages; length not verifiedn/aDesktop licence; cloud is an add-onmargcompusoft.com/marg-price-list

As listed on each vendor's own page on 31 Oct 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find it on their public pages. Plans change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you choose. On volume, Swipe's Free Forever plan (unlimited invoices) and Zoho Books Free (up to 1,000 invoices a year, inventory, GST filing) list more than RichPOS Free's 50 bills a month. Zoho Invoice Free allows 500 invoices a year. RichPOS Free fits a very small counter shop that wants barcode-first retail billing without paying. Offline billing, e-invoices and e-way bills: RichPOS does not do these on any plan; some apps above list them (usually on paid plans).

Methodology

How we compared them

  • Official vendor pages only (pricing pages, home pages and the vendor's FAQ). No review sites, no third-party blogs.
  • Every fact is dated 31 Oct 2026 and carries its source link. If a page does not state a limit, we write “not stated”, not a guess.
  • We compare the free offer itself: invoice or bill cap, users, branding on bills, platforms. We do not rank apps, and we do not call any of them the cheapest.
  • Where another app lists more than RichPOS Free (invoice volume, offline, accounting), we say so.

RichPOS Free means: 50 bills a month; 1 store; 1 user (the owner login, no staff users); Up to 200 items; A small “Made with RichPOS · richdaddy.in” footer on bills; No data export or backup download; Premium modules locked.

Who should pick what

Choose by how your shop works

You make a lot of invoices from your phone and want no invoice cap

Swipe Free Forever lists unlimited invoices (with a watermark and 1 user). Check the app for inventory on the free tier.

Swipe

You want free books, inventory and GST filing on the web, and your CA works with you

Zoho Books Free lists 1 user + 1 accountant and up to 1,000 invoices a year.

Zoho Books

You send under 500 invoices a year, no stock

Zoho Invoice Free lists up to 500 invoices a year and 2 users, with Zoho branding.

Zoho Invoice

You need billing that keeps working with no internet

Vyapar works offline and online, and lists a lifetime free plan on mobile (limits not stated). RichPOS needs internet.

Vyapar

You want free desktop accounting

BUSY Express is listed as free billing and accounting with no mobile app. Check GST support before you commit.

BUSY

You run one small counter, make fewer than 50 bills a month and want barcode-first retail billing with a clear, stated limit

RichPOS Free: free forever, 50 bills a month, 1 store, 1 user. Upgrade later without changing software.

RichPOS

On volume, Swipe's Free Forever plan (unlimited invoices) and Zoho Books Free (up to 1,000 invoices a year, inventory, GST filing) list more than RichPOS Free's 50 bills a month. Zoho Invoice Free allows 500 invoices a year. RichPOS Free fits a very small counter shop that wants barcode-first retail billing without paying. Offline billing, e-invoices and e-way bills: RichPOS does not do these on any plan; some apps above list them (usually on paid plans).

FAQ

Free billing software: common questions

Which free billing software is best for a small shop in India?

It depends on how many bills you make. Swipe lists unlimited invoices on its free plan, Zoho Books Free lists up to 1,000 invoices a year, and RichPOS Free gives 50 bills a month for one store and one user. Compare the limits in the table, then try one.

Is RichPOS free?

Yes. RichPOS Free is a free-forever plan: 50 bills a month, 1 store and 1 user, with a small “Made with RichPOS” footer on bills and no data export. Paid plans start with a 30-day free trial, then ₹99/month for the first 3 months, then ₹199/month or ₹1,999/year.

Which free plan has no invoice limit?

Swipe's Free Forever plan lists unlimited invoices, with a watermark on bills and 1 user (as listed on 31 Oct 2026). Zoho Books Free lists up to 1,000 invoices a year. Vyapar and myBillBook list free mobile plans but do not state their limits on the pages we read.

Is free billing software safe to use for GST bills?

GST invoices are listed on several free plans, for example Zoho Invoice and myBillBook, but features differ by plan: Swipe's GST reports and GSTR-1 start at PRO. Check that the free plan covers what you file, and keep a backup you can access.

Do free plans put branding on my bills?

Often. RichPOS Free adds a small “Made with RichPOS · richdaddy.in” footer. Swipe's watermark removal and Zoho Invoice's “Powered by Zoho Invoice” branding are listed on their pages. Vyapar's free-plan branding is not stated (as listed on 31 Oct 2026).

Can I move from a free plan to a paid one later?

Usually yes. RichPOS lets you upgrade any time from the pricing page, and a store with an ended trial drops to Free instead of being locked. Check each vendor's terms for moving data between plans.

How was this comparison made?

Every competitor fact comes from the vendor's own public page, read on 31 Oct 2026, with the link in the table. Where a page does not say, we write “not stated”. RichPOS facts come from our own Free plan page. We update the table when plans change.