← All guidesRunning a shop

Billing App Without Monthly Fee: Options for Indian Shops in 2026

Billing apps with no monthly fee in India: free plans, yearly plans and one-time licences compared, with a three-year cost table from prices listed on 31 Oct 2026 and the catch of each.

Billing software for shops: 30 days free, no card. Try RichPOS free →

Ashok Sachdev · 8 min read
Billing app options with no monthly fee for Indian shops: free, yearly and one-time licence
On this page · 8 sections
  1. Option 1: free plans (Rs 0, with limits)
  2. Option 2: yearly plans (one payment a year, no monthly bill)
  3. Option 3: one-time licences (pay once)
  4. Three-year cost, worked out
  5. What to check before choosing
  6. Which type suits which shop
  7. FAQ
  8. Bottom line

Updated 31 October 2026 · By Ashok Sachdev · Prices and plans as listed on each vendor's official page on 31 October 2026. Not financial advice.

Quick answer

A billing app with no monthly fee comes in three kinds: free plans with limits (Swipe, Zoho, Vyapar, myBillBook, RichPOS Free), yearly plans billed once a year (for example RichPOS Rs 1,999, Swipe PRO Rs 2,799), and one-time licences (TallyPrime Lifetime Rs 22,500 + 18% GST, Marg ERP Nano Rs 5,550 + 18% GST).

In short

  • "No monthly fee" can mean Rs 0, one payment a year, or one payment ever. They behave very differently after year one.
  • A price shown "per month" is often billed annually. Check the total, not the per-month figure.
  • One-time licences are not always the cheapest over three years once renewals and GST are added. The table below does the sum.
  • Free plans are real, but each has a limit on bills, users, branding or exports.

Searches like "billing software without monthly charges" usually come from a shop owner who is tired of small recurring payments or does not trust a subscription that can rise. That is a fair worry. This guide lists the options by type, shows the three-year cost where the pages let us work it out, and says honestly where each option is weak. It does not rank anything as cheapest, because the answer depends on how many bills you make and whether you need features like e-invoice. For the free-plan details see the free GST billing software comparison.

Option 1: free plans (Rs 0, with limits)

SoftwareFree plan as listed on 31 Oct 2026The catch
Swipe"Free Forever"; unlimited invoices; 1 business, 1 user; web, Android, iOSWatermark on bills (removing it is a PRO feature); 512 MB space
Zoho InvoiceFree; up to 500 invoices a year; 2 users"Powered by Zoho Invoice" branding; stock not mentioned
Zoho BooksFree for micro businesses; up to 1,000 invoices a year; 1 user + 1 accountantAccounting-style, heavier at a fast counter
Vyapar"Lifetime Free Plan" on mobileLimits not stated on its pages
myBillBookFree mobile plan, GST invoices, "free for life" within limitsNumeric limit not stated; inventory is an upgrade reason
RichPOS FreeFree forever; 50 bills a month; 1 store; 1 user; up to 200 itemsFooter on bills; no export; web app that needs internet

Free fits a shop with low volume. If you make fewer than about 40 bills a month, read when 50 bills a month is enough before paying for anything.

Option 2: yearly plans (one payment a year, no monthly bill)

SoftwareYearly price as listedWhat to know
RichPOS DukaanRs 1,999 a year, no GST charged by RichPOS1,500 bills a month, 1 store, 2 staff users; the monthly option is Rs 99 for 3 months, then Rs 199; needs internet, no offline, e-invoice or e-way bill
Swipe PRORs 2,799 a year (shown as Rs 233 a month; Rs 345 struck out)Admin + 1 user, no watermark, GSTR-1 and 40+ reports; JET at Rs 3,799 a year adds e-way bills and web POS
myBillBook PlusRs 3,490 a year (Rs 349 if billed monthly)1 business, 1 user + 1 CA, inventory, barcodes, Android, iOS and web; Pro Rs 3,990 adds a desktop app
Vyapar Desktop + Mobile SilverRs 3,959.10 for 1 year, with Rs 7,499 struck out beside it3 companies, 10 e-way bills a month; Gold Rs 4,319.10 adds unlimited e-way bills
Zoho Books StandardRs 749 per org per month, billed annually (Rs 899 monthly)3 users, inventory, GST reports; whether GST is added is not shown on the page

A yearly plan is the closest thing to "no monthly fee" with ongoing updates and support. The trade-off is the renewal: it can change, and your data is in their cloud. RichPOS prices carry no GST because RichPOS has no GST registration; most other vendors above either add GST or do not say.

Option 3: one-time licences (pay once)

SoftwareOne-time price as listedWhat to know
TallyPrime Silver, LifetimeRs 22,500 + 18% GST (Rs 26,550 in all); includes TSS and free expert assistanceSingle PC; full accounting, GST, e-invoice and e-way bills. Also sold as 12 months at Rs 8,100 + GST or Rs 750 a month + GST
Marg ERP NanoRs 5,550 + 18% GST (Rs 6,549 in all)Annual renewal (ARC) of Rs 2,400 is listed separately for Nano; the page does not say whether GST applies to it or whether renewal is compulsory. Basic Rs 10,300, Gold Rs 26,000, all + GST; extra user Rs 3,000
GimBooksA "Lifetime" option is shown on the pricing page; its price did not show in the text we read: not statedPremium shown at Rs 306 a month on a 36-month term + 18% GST; a 7-day free trial

One-time licences are strongest for shops that want one computer, accounting depth and no cloud. They are weaker if you want billing on your phone, staff on different devices, or updates without a renewal.

Three-year cost, worked out

Using only the prices in the tables above, and assuming each price stays the same, this is what three years costs. These are totals of listed prices, not quotes.

OptionYear 13 years in totalNote
Any free planRs 0Rs 0Within its limits
RichPOS yearlyRs 1,999Rs 5,9973 x Rs 1,999, no GST charged
Swipe PRO, 1-year price repeatedRs 2,799Rs 8,397Swipe also shows 3-year plans; we did not capture their price
myBillBook PlusRs 3,490Rs 10,470GST treatment not stated
Marg Nano with the listed renewalRs 6,549 incl. GSTRs 11,349 if renewal is Rs 2,400 in years 2 and 3 with no GSTRenewal GST not stated
TallyPrime Silver, 12 months repeatedRs 9,558 incl. GSTRs 28,674 incl. GSTRs 8,100 + 18% GST, three times
TallyPrime Silver, LifetimeRs 26,550 incl. GSTRs 26,550 incl. GSTCheaper than repeating 12 months from the third year

Two things stand out. A one-time licence is not automatically cheaper over three years: the small Marg Nano costs about twice the RichPOS yearly plan over that period, and it does different jobs (distributor-style desktop accounting). Against the same vendor's own subscription, the Tally lifetime licence pulls ahead from the third year. Against a low-cost cloud plan, any saving comes much later, and only if the software and your PC still suit you then.

What to check before choosing

  • Total, not per month. Swipe, myBillBook and Zoho show a per-month figure that is billed annually.
  • GST on the price. Some vendors add 18%. RichPOS does not charge GST.
  • Renewal and support. One-time licences often have a separate yearly support or update charge.
  • Where the data lives. A desktop licence keeps data on your PC. Back it up. A cloud plan keeps it with the vendor; check what you can export (RichPOS Free cannot export).
  • Offline. Desktop tools and Vyapar work offline. RichPOS is a web app and needs internet.
  • Features you need on day one. E-invoice, e-way bill, barcode, a second user.

Which type suits which shop

  • Under 40 bills a month, one person: a free plan. See RichPOS Free or the others above.
  • A counter with daily bills, stock and udhaar, internet available: a yearly plan such as RichPOS Dukaan at Rs 1,999, or Swipe or myBillBook, depending on features.
  • Accounting-heavy, CA-led, one PC, e-invoice needed: a Tally-style licence or Vyapar with e-invoicing.
  • Wholesale or distribution: Marg-style desktop software.

For more shop-specific comparisons, see sabse sasta billing software and the Tally alternatives guide. Hindi readers: दुकान के लिए फ्री बिलिंग सॉफ्टवेयर.

Bottom line

"No monthly fee" is a good filter, but the real comparison is the three-year total and the limits. For a small counter, a free plan or a yearly plan usually does it; a one-time licence makes sense for accounting-heavy, single-PC shops. Start on RichPOS Free or see RichPOS pricing.

Prices and plans as listed on 31 October 2026 on the vendors' official pages: getswipe.in/pricing, mybillbook.in/free, vyaparapp.in/pricing, zoho.com/in/books/pricing, zoho.com/in/invoice/pricing, tallysolutions.com/buy-tally, margcompusoft.com/marg-price-list, gimbooks.com/pricing; RichPOS from richdaddy.in/pricing. Prices change often and some pages show struck-out original prices; confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is there a billing app with no monthly fee in India?
Yes, in three forms. Free plans (Swipe, Zoho Invoice, Zoho Books, Vyapar mobile, myBillBook mobile, RichPOS Free), yearly plans such as RichPOS at Rs 1,999 a year, and one-time licences such as TallyPrime Lifetime at Rs 22,500 + 18% GST. Each has limits, listed above.
Is a one-time billing software licence cheaper than a subscription?
Not always. As listed on 31 October 2026, three years of RichPOS yearly is Rs 5,997, while TallyPrime Silver Lifetime is Rs 26,550 with GST and Marg Nano is Rs 6,549 with GST plus a listed renewal. The licence only pulls ahead in later years, if you keep using it.
Does RichPOS have a monthly fee?
It has a monthly option and a yearly one. After a 30-day free trial, it is Rs 99 a month for the first 3 months, then Rs 199 a month, or Rs 1,999 a year with no monthly payments. There is also a Free plan with 50 bills a month.
Do these prices include GST?
RichPOS charges no GST on its prices. Tally and Marg list "+18% GST". Several others do not say on the pages we read, so confirm before paying.
Can I use billing software offline with no monthly fee?
TallyPrime and Marg are desktop software, though the price pages we read do not state offline use. Vyapar says its billing works offline and online. RichPOS does not work offline.
What is the risk of a free plan?
The limit changing, a cap on bills, branding on your bills, and no export. Before you rely on one, make a few real bills, try to export the sales report and print a bill.
Written by Ashok Sachdev

Founder, RichPOS Software, Ahmedabad. We build RichPOS for Indian shops and write these guides from what shop owners ask us every day. Facts on tax rates and prices are dated; confirm GST matters with your CA. Questions? WhatsApp us.

Make GST bills in seconds with RichPOS

Billing, stock, WhatsApp bills and GST reports in one app. Free 30-day trial with no card, then ₹99/month for 3 months and ₹199/month after.

Chhoti dukaan? RichPOS Free plan bhi hai: ₹0, 50 bills/mahina, 1 store, 1 user (sign up pe “Free forever plan” tick karein). Free plan details