Khatabook vs OkCredit: which udhaar app is better? (2026)

Quick answer

Both are good free udhaar (khata) apps with payment reminders. OkCredit lists its paid plans openly (₹30 to ₹99 for 30 days) and confirms each entry to the customer by SMS. Khatabook works on desktop and mobile and manages several businesses in one account. If you also bill and keep stock, keep udhaar inside billing software instead.

Intro offerRegular price ₹199₹99/monthfirst 3 months · then ₹199

After the free 30-day trial · or ₹2,000/year · no card needed

Payment reminder delivered on WhatsApp
Ashok SachdevUpdated · 5 min read
On this page · 10
  1. Key facts
  2. Are Khatabook and OkCredit both free?
  3. Which sends better WhatsApp and SMS reminders?
  4. Can Khatabook or OkCredit make GST bills?
  5. Can I use them on a laptop and a phone?
  6. Which is better for a kirana shop with monthly credit customers?
  7. Can I export my khata data?
  8. When should a shop move from a khata app to billing software with udhaar?
  9. How RichPOS helps
  10. Frequently asked questions

Key facts

  • OkCredit's free Basic Plan includes unlimited customers, unlimited entries, payment reminders and online backup; every entry is confirmed to the customer by SMS, and the app runs in 11 Indian languages. (Source: okcredit.in/khatabook-alternative, as of Oct 2026)
  • OkCredit lists paid plans of ₹30, ₹75 and ₹99 for 30 days. The ₹75 plan (Ads Free++) adds no ads, multi-device and desktop access, normal and GST bills and stock; ₹99 adds unlimited SMS. (Source: okcredit.in/pricing, as of Oct 2026)
  • OkCredit's home page says the app also works offline ("Offline bhi kaam karta hai") and that reminders carry a UPI payment link or QR. (Source: okcredit.in, as of Oct 2026)
  • Khatabook lists a digital bahi khata, payment reminders with auto reminders, use on desktop and mobile with real-time sync, several businesses in one account and automatic backup when connected to the internet. (Source: khatabook.com, as of Oct 2026)

General information, not tax or legal advice.

Are Khatabook and OkCredit both free?

Yes, both offer a free khata app for recording udhaar and sending reminders. OkCredit also sells paid plans and lists their prices; Khatabook's pricing page did not load when we checked, so check the current price on their site.

OkCredit's free Basic Plan contains ads. Its pricing page also sells an "Unlimited Transactions" plan for ₹30 for 30 days, while its Khatabook-alternative page says the free plan already has unlimited entries. Ask OkCredit which limits apply to your account before you rely on the free plan for a busy shop.

Khatabook and OkCredit side by side (as listed on 16 Oct 2026)
What you getKhatabookOkCredit
Free planYes, free appsYes, Basic Plan (with ads)
Paid plansCheck current price on their site₹30, ₹75 or ₹99 for 30 days
Payment remindersPayment reminders and auto remindersAutomatic SMS and WhatsApp reminders with a UPI link
Entry confirmation to customerNot stated on the page we checkedEvery entry confirmed by SMS
Laptop / desktopDesktop and mobile, real-time syncDesktop and multi-device on the ₹75 plan and above
GST billsNot stated on the page we checkedNormal and GST bills on the ₹75 plan and above
Several businessesMultiple businesses in one accountNot stated on the pages we checked
OfflineNot stated; backup runs when onlineSays it works offline
LanguagesNot stated on the page we checked11 Indian languages

Facts as listed on khatabook.com, okcredit.in, okcredit.in/pricing and okcredit.in/khatabook-alternative on 16 Oct 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we checked, not that it is missing. Ask the vendor.

Which sends better WhatsApp and SMS reminders?

OkCredit describes its reminders in more detail: automatic SMS reminders on every due balance, a one-tap WhatsApp reminder with a payment link, and a QR the customer can scan with GPay, PhonePe, BHIM or Paytm. Khatabook lists payment reminders and auto reminders for faster collection.

In practice, the message matters as much as the app. A polite reminder with the exact amount and a date works better than a bare balance alert. Our free udhaar reminder message maker writes polite, friendly or firm reminders in English, Hindi and Gujarati that you can send from any app.

Can Khatabook or OkCredit make GST bills?

OkCredit says its ₹75 and ₹99 plans can create normal and GST bills. Khatabook's home page we checked did not mention GST bills, so ask Khatabook if you need them.

A khata app's bills are usually simple. If your counter needs barcode scanning, stock that goes down with each sale, GST reports for your CA and several cashiers, you need billing software, not only a khata. See RichPOS vs Khatabook for that comparison.

Can I use them on a laptop and a phone?

Yes for Khatabook, which lists desktop and mobile use with real-time sync. OkCredit lists desktop access and multi-device login on its ₹75 Ads Free++ plan and above, and a web version link on its site.

If you and a staff member both enter udhaar, check how each app handles two people on one account. Khatabook says it gives easy access for both staff and owners; OkCredit lists multi-device on paid plans.

Which is better for a kirana shop with monthly credit customers?

For a kirana with many small monthly accounts, the deciding feature is how disputes are handled, and OkCredit's SMS confirmation of every entry is built for that. Khatabook is the better fit if one owner runs more than one business and wants them in a single account.

Monthly kirana credit has a pattern: many small entries all month, then one collection drive around the first week. OkCredit describes sending a reminder to all customers at the start of the month. Whatever app you pick, set one fixed collection date, send reminders a day before it, and record part payments the same day.

Watch the hidden cost of SMS. OkCredit's free plan sends transaction SMS from your own phone's SIM, and unlimited SMS from OkCredit comes with the ₹99 plan. If your mobile plan charges for SMS, or you send hundreds a month, that matters more than the app price.

Language also matters at the counter. OkCredit says the whole app runs in 11 Indian languages, so staff who read Hindi or Gujarati better than English can use it. Check what languages Khatabook offers in the app before you train staff on it.

Can I export my khata data?

Neither home page we checked described a full data export, so ask before you put years of udhaar into one app. OkCredit says it produces customer-wise statements your accountant can work from.

Whatever you use, keep a monthly copy of each customer's balance. If you ever switch apps, OkCredit's own advice is the simplest: add each customer and enter their current outstanding as the opening entry.

Before you trust any khata app with your dues

  • Can I download each customer's statement as PDF or Excel?
  • What happens to my data if I stop paying for a plan?
  • Who can log in, and can I remove a staff member's access?
  • Are reminders sent from my number or the app's number?
  • Is there a limit on free entries or SMS in my plan?

When should a shop move from a khata app to billing software with udhaar?

Move when you write the same sale twice: once on a bill and again in the khata. That double entry is where mistakes and missed dues come from.

Other signs: you sell 30 or more bills a day, you need stock to update when you sell, more than one person handles the counter, or your CA asks for GST reports. Billing software with udhaar built in puts the unpaid part of a bill on the customer's account automatically, so there is nothing to copy. Read our Khatabook alternatives list for options, and the Hindi guide उधार वापस कैसे लें for collection tips.

If you only lend to a handful of regular customers and do not need bills, stay with a free khata app. It is the cheapest tool that does the job.

How RichPOS helps

RichPOS keeps udhaar inside billing. When a bill is not fully paid, the balance goes to that customer's account automatically, and stock goes down with the sale.

  • Customer-wise outstanding balance and how old each due is
  • Part payments recorded against open bills
  • WhatsApp due reminder from the customer record
  • Optional credit limit per customer: a bill that crosses it is not saved
  • GST bills on thermal or A4, barcode billing and stock in the same app
  • Browser on a laptop plus the Android app on the same account

What RichPOS does not do: RichPOS needs internet and is paid (₹99/month for 3 months, then ₹199/month or ₹2,000/year, after a 30-day free trial). If you only need a khata, a free app is the better choice.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for shop udhaar, Khatabook or OkCredit?

Both are good free udhaar apps. OkCredit confirms each entry to the customer by SMS and lists its paid plans openly. Khatabook works on desktop and mobile and manages several businesses in one account. Pick the one your customers respond to.

Are both free?

Yes, both have free khata apps. OkCredit's free plan has ads and its paid plans are ₹30, ₹75 or ₹99 for 30 days as listed on 16 Oct 2026. Check Khatabook's current prices on its site.

Which sends better WhatsApp or SMS reminders?

OkCredit lists automatic SMS reminders plus WhatsApp reminders with a UPI link or QR. Khatabook lists payment reminders and auto reminders. The wording of the reminder matters as much as the app.

Can either make GST bills?

OkCredit says its ₹75 and ₹99 plans create normal and GST bills. Khatabook's home page did not mention GST bills, so ask them. For barcode billing and stock you need billing software.

Can I use them on a laptop and a phone?

Khatabook lists desktop and mobile with real-time sync. OkCredit lists desktop and multi-device access on its ₹75 plan and above.

When should a shop move from a khata app to billing software?

When you write each credit sale twice, on a bill and in the khata, or when you need stock, GST reports or several cashiers. Billing software with udhaar puts the unpaid amount on the customer's account automatically.

Which is better for a kirana with monthly credit customers?

OkCredit's SMS confirmation of each entry helps avoid disputes over many small monthly entries. Khatabook suits an owner who runs several businesses from one account. Set one fixed collection date either way.

Can I export my khata data?

Neither home page described a full export. OkCredit says it gives customer-wise statements your accountant can use. Ask before you rely on any app, and keep a monthly copy of balances.

Free toolUdhaar reminder message maker →Polite, friendly, firm or Diwali reminders in English, Hindi and Gujarati; copy or open in WhatsApp. Free, no sign-up.
Written by Ashok Sachdev

Founder, RichPOS Software. We build RichPOS for Indian shops and write these guides from questions shop owners ask us. Tax rules are quoted from official sources with the date we checked them; confirm your own case with your CA.

Try RichPOS free for 30 days

No card needed. Import your items from Excel and make your first GST bill today.

Intro offerRegular price ₹199₹99/monthfirst 3 months · then ₹199