What does billing software cost a small shop in India?
Most paid billing apps for small shops cost between about ₹3,500 and ₹8,100 a year today, and desktop accounting licences cost more. The table below shows what each vendor lists on its own pricing page, so you can compare like with like.
| Software | Listed price | Billing period | GST on the price |
|---|---|---|---|
| RichPOS | ₹99/month for the first 3 months, then ₹199/month; or ₹2,000/year | Monthly or yearly, after a 30-day free trial | See the pricing page and checkout |
| Vyapar (Desktop + Mobile) | Silver ₹4,399; Gold ₹4,799 (shown as discounted from ₹7,499 / ₹9,099) | 1 year | Not stated on the page we checked |
| myBillBook | Plus ₹3,490/year; Pro ₹3,990/year; Pro Max from ₹570/month | Billed annually (monthly also offered) | Not stated on the page we checked |
| BUSY | START ₹5,000 (non-GST); SMART ₹8,000; POWER ₹12,000 | Per 360 days | GST to be added |
| Marg ERP | Nano ₹5,550; Basic ₹10,300; Silver ₹13,900; Gold ₹26,000 | Not stated on the page; ask Marg about renewal | 18% GST extra |
| TallyPrime Silver | ₹750/month; ₹8,100 for 12 months; ₹22,500 lifetime | Monthly, yearly or lifetime | 18% GST extra |
Prices as listed on each vendor's own pricing page on 16 Oct 2026. Offers change often, so check the current price on their site before you buy. Sources are linked in Key facts above.
Two things decide the real cost: what is included in the plan (users, stores, e-invoice, barcode labels) and what you pay again next year. A cheap first year with an expensive renewal is not cheap.
Is free billing software enough for a kirana store?
Free software is enough if you only need simple bills or a khata for udhaar, but most shops outgrow it once they want barcode billing, stock and GST reports together. Free plans usually limit features, show ads or push you to upgrade.
Vyapar, for example, says it offers a lifetime free plan with basic features on mobile. OkCredit and Khatabook offer free khata apps for udhaar. These are fine for a small counter with a notebook-style workflow. Read our full list of free GST billing software options for the trade-offs.
Move to a paid plan when you bill more than a few dozen customers a day, keep stock of hundreds of items, need more than one login, or your CA wants GSTR-1 data every month.
What is the difference between a one-time licence and a yearly subscription?
A one-time (lifetime) licence is paid once for a version of the software, while a subscription is paid every month or year and includes updates and support for that period. Lifetime licences cost more up front and often need a separate yearly fee for updates.
TallyPrime is a clear example: the same Silver edition is listed at ₹750/month, ₹8,100 for 12 months or ₹22,500 lifetime, plus GST. Over three years the yearly plan costs about the same as the lifetime licence, so the choice depends on how long you will use it and whether updates are included.
Cloud billing apps are almost always subscriptions, because the vendor runs the servers that hold your data. That also means your data is backed up off the shop computer, which matters if a PC fails.
How much does POS hardware cost?
Hardware is a separate one-time cost and depends on the brand, so compare current prices from two or three sellers before you buy. We do not quote hardware prices here because we have not checked a vendor source for them.
A typical small-shop counter needs:
- A computer, laptop, tablet or Android phone you already own (cloud billing runs in a browser).
- A thermal receipt printer, 58 mm or 80 mm. See our guide on which thermal printer to buy.
- A barcode scanner, if you sell packed goods with barcodes.
- Optionally a barcode label printer and a cash drawer.
Start with what you have. Many shops bill from a laptop and a single thermal printer for months before buying a scanner.
Why does Marg or Tally renewal feel expensive, and what are cheaper options?
Desktop accounting packages are built for full books of account, GST returns and multi-user offices, so their prices reflect more than counter billing. If you mainly bill walk-in customers and track stock, a retail billing app usually costs less.
Marg ERP is strong for distributors and pharma, and TallyPrime is the standard many CAs use for final books. You do not always have to choose: many shops bill in a retail app and send a Tally export to their CA. Compare options in our Marg alternative page and Tally alternatives guide.
Does the billing software price include GST?
Often not: Marg ERP, BUSY and TallyPrime all state that GST is added to the listed price, which adds 18%. Vyapar and myBillBook did not say either way on the pricing pages we checked, so ask before you pay.
If you are GST registered and the software is a business expense, you can usually claim input tax credit on that GST. Ask your CA. To work out the price with GST, use our free GST calculator.
Can you try billing software before paying?
Yes, most vendors offer a free trial or a free basic plan, and you should test with your own items before paying. myBillBook lists a 7-day money-back guarantee on its plans, and RichPOS has a 30-day free trial with no card.
- Import 50 real items Use your own item names, prices and GST rates, not demo data.
- Make 20 real bills Time a normal bill at the counter, with a scanner if you use one.
- Print on your printer Check that a 58 mm or 80 mm bill shows your GSTIN, HSN and tax split.
- Run the reports your CA needs GSTR-1 data and a sales report for the trial period.
- Check the renewal price Write down the year-two price before you pay for year one.